

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

C9. Commission on Magnetism

Report 2016

Officers 2014-2017:

Chairman: **Xiaofeng Jin**, China Vice Chairman: **Sharika Nandan Kaul**, India Secretary: **Burkard Hillebrands**, Germany

Members 2014-2017:

Andrew Boothroyd (2011), UK Giovanni Carlotti (2014), Italy Joël Cibert (2014), France Alberto Passos Guimar (2014), Brazil Guang-Yu Guo (2014), Taiwan Can-Ming Hu (2014), Taiwan Can-Ming Hu (2014), Canada Jae II Lee (2014), Korea Kai Liu (2014), USA YoshiChika Otani (2014), Japan Vladimir Ustinov (2014) (2011), Russia Luis Miguel García Vinuesa (2014), Spain

Meeting

The C9 Commission Meeting was held on July 07, 2015, Palau de Congressos de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.

Ad 1: The Chair of the ICM 2012, Shun-Chul Shin, presented the final report of the ICM 2012 in Busan, Korea.

Ad 2: The Chair of the ICM 2015, Amílcar Labarta presented that status of the ongoing conference and showed statistical data. He pointed out, that the number of attendees is very close to the record meeting in Rome in 2003. The C9 Chair thanked the Conference Chair and his team for all their intensive work and mentioned the excellent atmosphere the conference has created already in the first days. The commission members highly appreciated, that for the first time the Conference Chair provides the gender statistics of participants, and encouraged forthcoming chairs to continue to do the same in forthcoming ICMs. The C9 Chair also reminded the Conference Chair to try the best to hand over the same amount of left over money from ICM 2012 to the next ICM in San Francisco. Ad 3: Mark Stiles, Liesl Folks and Ron Goldfarb presented the current status of the preparation for the next ICM 2018 in San Francisco (viewgraphs attached). Designated Conference Chair is Allen McDonald, designated Secretary General is Liesl Folks, and designated Program Chair is Mark Stiles. The members discussed how to better select all the oral presentations, including plenary, invited and oral talks, and encouraged the organizers to come up with some new ideas. The C9 Chair reminded the organizers to keep the traditional ICM social events.



Conference Management

- The sponsors are;
 - IUPAP
 - The IEEE Magnetics Society
 - Physics Conferences, Inc. (PCI), a subsidiary of The American Institute of Physics (AIP)
- All are not-for-profit organizations
- Conference insurance provided by IEEE
- Financial underwriting provided by the MMM Reserve Account







Ad 4: Prof. Yizheng Wu presented a bid for the ICM 2021. He proposes to organize it in Shanghai, China. Members of the bidding group are Xiaofeng Jin, Jian Shen, and Jiang Xiao (all from Fudan University). The members reminded the bidding group that the final ICM local committee should be composed not only of Shanghai scientists but it should include scientists from entire China.

Ad 5: The C9 Chair pointed out that according to the IUPAP rules the Young Scientist Prize can be awarded to up to three recipients over three years. In the past, this award was given every three years to a group of one to three awardees, which is within the IUPAP rules. After a short discussion the members agreed, that from now on the Young Scientist Prize will be awarded every year to a single young scientist. The procedures for nomination and voting will be used as before (nomination from the IUPAP-C9 commission or the community, voting by e-mail).

The call for nominations will be put onto the IUPAP-C9 webpage. Awardees will be invited to the next ICM conference. They will receive the award during an award ceremony at this conference. They are invited for an invited talk, as well as to the award dinner.

Magnetism Award

The 2015 IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal has been awarded to Prof. Chia-Ling Chien, citation: "For pioneering discoveries in magnetic materials and nanostructures". Prof. Chia-Ling Chien, presented a lecture entitled "Golden Era of Modern Magnetism".

The 2015 IUPAP Young Scientist Medals in the field of Magnetism have been awarded to (in alphabetical order): Dr. Marius V. Costache, citation: "For the development of new methods to excite and detect on-chip ferromagnetic resonance and new detection schemes for the magnon-drag effect", and Dr. Masamitsu Hayashi, citation: "For the pioneering work on domain wall dynamics in magnetic nanowires and contributions to the development of current controlled magnetism in magnetic heterostructures using spin orbit effects".