IUPAP C17: 2013 Report

1. Changing the name of the commission

Under the effort to align the name of the commission with the research topics of modern optics and photonics and following the recommendation of the IUPAP Executive Council a working team of people was composed to discuss and make recommendations regarding the C17 name:

Victor Zadkov (chair C17) Deborah Kane (vice-chair, C17) Cristina Masoller (secretary, C17) Martin McCall (member, C17) Katharine Gebbie (chair C15) or a replacement from C15 on her recommendation Duncan Moore (chair AC1) or a replacement from AC1 on his recommendation John Dudley (EPS associated member of C17, president of the EPS)

2. Associated members of C17

At the last IUPAP Executive Council and Committees Chairs meeting in October 2012 C17 suggested to approve the European Physical Society (EPS) as an associated member of the commission, and this proposal was approved. Two persons from the EPS are named as the representatives:

John Dudley, President of the EPS, former chair of the QEOD/EPS David Lee, Secretary General, EPS

3. IUPAP C17 Prize for Young Scientists

The selection rules for the IUPAP C17 Prize for Young Scientists were discussed by the C17 commission members and respectively changed in order to allow selection of up to two winners (one for fundamental and one for applied aspects) prior to the award ceremony.

The upcoming 2013 Call for the IUPAP C17 Prize for Young Scientists has been prepared and launched. It was agreed that the Award Ceremony will take place at the Optics & Photonics Taiwan International Conference (OPTIC 2013) to be held in Zhogli, Taiwan, on 5-7 December, 2013. This is an international meeting with up to 1000 participants, covering most of the areas of QE and applications, and in a nice location.