Activities of the International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA) September 2012 – September 2013

Roy Rubinstein – ICFA Secretary

1. Introduction

During the past year there were two ICFA meetings: on 21/22 February 2013 at TRIUMF, and on 26 June 2013 during Lepton-Photon 2013 in San Francisco. At the February meeting, which is the major annual ICFA meeting, directors of the world's leading particle physics laboratories were also invited, as has been the practice for the past ~ 2 decades. This allows a much more extensive discussion of the current and future status of particle physics.

The present ICFA membership is given in Appendix I.

2. Linear Collider

The Global Design Effort (GDE) and Research Directorate completed their mandates by producing the draft Technical Design (TDR) and Detailed Baseline Design (DBD) reports late in 2012. This was followed by a technical review of the International Linear Collider (ILC) accelerator and detector designs by an augmented Project Advisory Committee in December 2012. In February 2013, there was an international review of ILC accelerator costs. Changes recommended by these two reviews were incorporated into the final documents, which became publicly available at a world-wide "ILC Event" on 12 June 2013.

The International Linear Collider Steering Committee was set up in 2002 by ICFA to facilitate the global collaborative effort on the ILC. In February 2013, this committee went out of existence, and was replaced by the Linear Collider Board (LCB), which will oversee the activities of the Linear Collider Collaboration (LCC), comprising the ILC, the CLIC project, and the detectors for these colliders. ICFA produced a Mandate for the LCB, and has appointed its members. Lyn Evans was appointed Linear Collider Director, with Hitoshi Murayama as Deputy Director, Michael Harrison as ILC Associate Director, Steinar Stapnes as CLIC Associate Director, and Hitoshi Yamamoto as Associate Director for Detectors. Brian Foster and Harry Weerts have joined the LCC as Regional Directors, with an Asian Regional Director still to be appointed. Among the LCC goals are to support construction of a staged ILC in Japan.

3. ICFA Seminar

ICFA Seminars are held every three years, with the most recent being at CERN in October 2011, and the next one at IHEP/Beijing on 27-31 October 2014; these four-day Seminars allow for an international exchange of information primarily on plans for future facilities in the field of particle physics. Typical attendance is 150-200 invited leading members of the fields of accelerator and particle physics, together with leaders from related topics such as astroparticle physics, scientific computing, outreach, etc. Representatives of government funding agencies are also invited.

4. FALC

The Funding Agencies for Large Colliders (FALC) will produce a report on GDE activities over the past several years which have led to the ILC design, and how useful such a mechanism is for a future large global science project.

5. Neutrino Facilities

ICFA created a Panel on neutrino facilities, limited to an accelerator-based program, but which will also look at related non-accelerator based neutrino activities; a charge for this Panel was produced.

6. ICFA Chair

Pier Oddone retired as Fermilab Director and ICFA Chair on 1 July 2013. ICFA agreed that the incoming Fermilab Director, Nigel Lockyer, would serve as ICFA Chair for the remainder of Oddone's term, which ends on 31 December 2014.

7. Reports

Reports were presented to ICFA meetings on the activities of ICFA's Panels; the ICFA/ICUIL collaboration on particle acceleration by lasers; and of each country and lab represented at the meeting. There were also reports given on InterAction (the particle physics communicators' organization).

Appendix I

ICFA MEMBERSHIP

September 2013

CERN Member States

R. Heuer

M. Krammer

J. Mnich

USA

N. Lockyer (Chair)

D. MacFarlane

I. Shipsey

Japan

T. Mori

A. Suzuki

Russia

A. Bondar

S. Ivanov

Canada

W. Trischuk

China

Y. Wang

Other Countries

G. Alves

A. Roy

V. Tsakanov

C11

H. Aihara

(Secretary: R. Rubinstein)