Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 140--144 (1995) xvii-xviii





The Magnetism Award of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism

The second IUPAP Magnetism Award was presented at the Triennial Conference on Magnetism (ICM '94), held in Warsaw, Poland, August 1994. The Award is made in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism, with emphasis on recent accomplishments. The Award winner is selected by the Award Committee from nominations of candidates received from the magnetism community.

The Committee members for the 1994 Award were:

K.H.J. Buschow (chairman)	T. Moriya
R.A. Cowley	A.J. Freeman
T.J. Hicks	J. Friedel

There were two winners of the Magnetism Award: Professor Albert Fert of Université Paris-Sud, Orsay, France and Professor Peter Grünberg of Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany. Professor Buschow, on behalf of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism, presented each of the two winners with a cash award as well as with models consisting of plexiglass hysteresis loops mounted on pedestals bearing the inscriptions of their names and "ICM Award 1994, awarded by the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism". The two identical models were designed, executed and donated by Elsevier Science Publishers, to whom the Magnetism Commission is most grateful.

Citation of Albert Fert and Peter Grünberg for the Magnetism Award given by the chairman of the Award Committee

"The Magnetism Award of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism is presented at the triannual International Conferences on Magnetism, being the major international conference of the of the Magnetism Section of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. The first Magnetism Award was presented at the previous ICM held in 1991 in Edinburg. This is the second time that the Magnetism Award will be presented. The award is made in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism with emphasis on recent scientific achievements.

All members of the magnetism community were invited to make nominations for this Award. From the various nominations received, the Award Committee has made a selection. This time there will be two Award winners who will share the prize equally.

On behalf of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism it is with much pleasure that I can announce that the two Award winners are:

Professor Albert Fert, Université Paris-Sud, Paris, France, Professor Peter Grünberg, Institut für Festkörperforschung, Jülich, Germany.

0304-8853/95/\$09.50 © 1995 Elsevier Science B.V. All lights reserved

Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 140-144 (1995) xvii-xviii



Albert Fert



Peter Grünberg

Both Award winners are well known in the international magnetism community, and both scientists have participated actively and successfully in innovative scientific work in the field of magnetism and magnetic phenomena. They have communicated their results to other scientists working in this area either in the form of international cooperations, in the form of presentations at various international conferences, or in the form of publications in international scientific journals.

The two winners receive the Award for their outstanding scientific contributions and for their pioneering work in the field of magnetic coupling and magnetoresistance in artificial multilayered structures. The results obtained by the Award winners are important not only in the field of fundamental magnetism but they have also much bearing on applied magnetism. Two important examples of applications of artificial multilayered structures are magnetoresistive heads and magnetic sensors.

The outstanding nature of the scientific accomplishments of Professor Fert and Professor Grünberg has been well documented in the many nominations received by the Award Committee.

I have been informed that the two Award winners had, and still have a very close and fruitful cooperation in the field of magnetism of artificial multilayered structures. For this reason it is gratifying that we can honour these two distinguished scientists together here today."

Professor Fert and Professor Grünberg were subsequently invited to present the opening plenary lectures to the assembled Conference participants.