



## The Magnetism Award of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism

The third IUPAP Magnetism Award was presented at the Triennial Conference on Magnetism (ICM'97) held in Cairns, Australia. The Award is made in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism, with emphasis on recent accomplishments. The Award winner is selected by the Award Committee from nominations made by the magnetism community.

The Award Committee members for the 1997 Award were:

K.H.J. Buschow (chairman)
R.A. Cowley
A.J. Freeman
R. Street
A.J. Yasuoka

The winner of the Magnetism Award was Professor Robert J. Birgeneau of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA who was presented with a cash award, a gift of Australian art presented by the Organising Committee of ICM'97, and a model engraved with "ICM Award 1997, awarded by the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism to Professor Robert J. Birgeneau". The model was donated by Elsevier Science Publishers, to whom the Magnetism Commission is very grateful.

Citation for the 1997 Magnetism Award presented to Professor Robert J. Birgeneau

"The Magnetism Award of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism is presented at the triannual International Conferences on Magnetism, being the major international conference of the Magnetism Commission of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. The first award was presented at the conference in 1991 held in Edinburgh, the second at the 1994 conference held in Warsaw, and the third award was presented at the conference in Cairns. The award is made in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism with emphasis on recent scientific achievements. All members of the scientific community were invited to make nominations and the Award Committee was pleased to make the Award to:

Professor Robert Birgeneau,

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.

Professor Birgeneau is well known in the scientific community for his studies of the cooperative phenomena in condensed matter by using neutron and X-ray scattering techniques. The Award is in recognition of his achievements in the field of magnetism, and in particular for the identification of model magnetic systems and the experimental elucidation of their behaviour using neutron scattering techniques. These experiments have made important contributions to our knowledge of critical phenomena in low dimensional systems, disordered systems and high temperature superconductors. The importance of these contributions both in magnetism and other fields has been recognised by the Award Committee."



After the presentation of the Award, Professor Birgeneau presented the opening plenary lecture of ICM'97. It is published as the first paper in these Proceedings.