

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com





Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 272-276 (2004) xix-xx

www.elsevier.com/locate/jmmm

The Magnetism Award of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism – 2003

The fifth IUPAP Magnetism Award was presented at the triennial Conference on Magnetism (ICM 2003) held in Rome, Italy. The Award is made in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism, with emphasis on recent accomplishments. The Award winners are selected by the Award Committee from nominations made by the magnetism community.

The Award Committee members for the 2003 Award were:

Fert P.	de V. du Plessis
J. Freeman V.	. Sechovsky
Givord B.	.S. Shastry
Grünberg F.	. Steglich
Hernando V.	.V. Ustinov
A. McEwen D	-s. Wang
(. Freeman V Givord B Grünberg F Hernando V

The winners of the Magnetism Awards were Prof. David D. Awshalom, Prof. Gabriel Aeppli and Prof. Hideo Ohno, who were presented a cash award and a medal offered by the Laboratoire Louis Néel. Part of the cash was generously donated by Elsevier Science Publishers, to whom the Magnetism Commission is very grateful. After the presentation of the Award, Prof. Awshalom, Prof. Aeppli and Prof. Ohno presented the opening plenary lectures of ICM 2003.

Citation for the 2003 Magnetism Award presented to Profs. David Awshalom, Gabriel Aeppli and Hideo Ohno

The Magnetism Award of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism is presented at the triennial International Conference on Magnetism, being the major international conference of the Magnetism Commission of the International Union for Pure and Applied Physics. The first award was presented at the Conference in 1991 held in Edinburgh and the fifth award at the ICM 2003 Conference in Rome. The award is made in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism with emphasis on recent scientific achievements. All members of the scientific community were invited to make nominations and the Award Committee was pleased to make the Award to:

Prof. David D. Awshalom, Prof. Gabriel Aeppli, Prof. Hideo Ohno.



Prof. David D. Awschalom

David D. Awschalom received his B.Sc. in physics from the University of Illinois, and his Ph.D. in experimental physics from Cornell University. He was a Research Staff member and Manager of the Nonequilibrium Physics Department at the IBM Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, NY. In 1991 he joined the University of California-Santa Barbara as a Professor of Physics, and in 2001 was additionally appointed as a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is Director of the Center for Spintronics and Quantum Computation, and Associate Director of the new California Nanosystems Institute.



Prof. Gabriel Aeppli,

Gabriel Aeppli is the Quain Professor of Physics and Head of the Condensed Matter and Materials Physics Group at UCL, and the Director of the London Centre for Nanotechnology. He is also a Wolfson-Royal Society Research Fellow, and was previously a Senior Research Scientist for NEC (Princeton), a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories, and an industrial co-op student at IBM. His B.Sc. in Mathematics and PhD, M.Sc. & B.Sc in Electrical Engineering are from MIT



Prof. Hideo Ohno

Hideo Ohno graduated from the University of Tokyo and then worked at Hokkaido University, before he joined Tohoku University in 1994. He was a Visiting Scientist at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center from 1988 to 1990. His research interests include semiconductor spintronics (classical as well as quantum), physics, and application of semiconductor quantum structures, and semiconductor crystal growth. He has developed ferromagnetic III-V semiconductors and demonstrated reversible electrical switching of ferromagnetic phase transition using a ferromagnetic semiconductor channel field-effect transistor.