Commission C15: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Report (2014 –2017) for IUPAP 2017 GA and C&CC meeting in San Paulo^{*}

Submitted by Toshiyuki Azuma (Chair)

Officer:

Chair:

Toshiyuki Azuma Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics Laboratory, RIKEN Hirosawa 2-1, Wako, Saitama 351-0198, Japan Email: toshiyuki-azuma@riken.jp

Vice Chair:

Roberto Rivarola Instituto de Física Rosario (IFIR), Oficina 205, BV. 27 de Febrero 210 Bis Rosario Santa Fe 2000, Argentina Email: rivarola@ifir-conicet.gov.ar

Secretary:

Dominique Vernhet Institut des NanoSciences de Paris, Université Pierre et Marie Curie – Paris 6 B84, 4 place Jussieu, 75252 Paris cedex 05, France Email: dominique.vernhet@insp.jussieu.fr

Members:

Dajun Ding Institute of Atomic and Molecular Physics, Jilin University Changchun 130012, China Email: dajund@jlu.edu.cn

Peter Drummond Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology PO Box 218, Melbourne, Victoria 3122, Australia Email: peterddrummond@gmail.com

Thomas F. Gallagher Department of Physics, University of Virginia 382 McCormick Rd PO Box 400714, Charlottesville, Virginia 22904-4714, United States Email: tfg@imap.phys.virginia.edu

Jimena Gorfinkiel Department of Physical Sciences, The Open University Walton Hall Milton Keynes MK7 6AA, United Kingdom Email: jimena.gorfinkiel@open.ac.uk

Jan-Petter Hansen Department of Physics and Technology, University of Bergen Allégt. 55, N-5007 Bergen, Norway Email: Jan.Hansen@ift.uib.no

Wonho Jhe Seoul National University 599 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul 151-742, Korea

^{*} This report covers the acitivities in the term from C&CC/GA at Singapore in November 2014 to C&CC/GA at San Paulo in Octover 2017.

Email: whjhe@snu.ac.kr

Thomas Möller Technische Universität Berlin, Institut für Optik und Atomare Physik, EW 3-1 Hardenbergstr. 36, 10623 Berlin, Germany Email: thomas.moeller@physik.tu-berlin.de

Ousmanou Motapon University of Maroua, P.O. Box 46 Maroua, Cameroon Email: omotapon@univ-douala.com

Ergo Nommiste University of Tartu, Riia 142, Tartu, 51014, Estonia Email: ergo.nommiste@ut.ee

Alexander Sergeev Institute of Applied Physics (IAP RAS), Russian Academy of Sciences 46 U'lyanova str. Nizhnii Novgorod 603600, Russian Federation Email: ams@ufp.appl.sci-nnov.ru

Joseph E. Thywissen Department of Physics, University of Toronto 60 George St. Toronto, ON, Canada Email: jht@physics.utoronto.ca

Associated members:

The International Commission for Optics (ICO) had been approved as an associated member of the commission since 2015.

Associate Members 2015 – 2017 Angela M. Guzmán Secretary, International Commision for Optics P.O. Box 4572, Deerfield Bch, FL 33442-4572, USA. E-mail: ico.secretariat@gmail.com; secretariat@e-ico.org

C15 Activityies:

The major activities are summarized as the following three items.

1. IUPAP C15 Young Scientist Prize

The commission C15 runs the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical (AMO) Physics. The C15 YSP winner has been selected after competitive ranking from about 30 nominations every year. The prize has been be awarded annually alternating between the two major"flagship" conferences of the AMO Physics field regularly supported by IUPAP, ICPEAC (International Conference on Photonic, Electronic, and Atomic Collisions) or ICAP (International Conference on Atomic Physics).

2017: Johannes Feist (Condensed Matter Physics Center (IFIMAC), Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain) The prize was awarded for his outstanding contributions in modifications of molecular structure under strong light-matter coupling. He was invited to receive the award and provide the winner's talk at ICPEAC 2017 in Cairns, Australia in 26 July - 1 August 2017.

2016: Yu-Ao Chen (University of Science and Technology of China at Shanghai, China)

The prize was awarded for his outstanding contributions on quatum information and simulation. He was invited to receive the award and provide the winner's talk at ICAP 2016 in Seoul, Korea in 24-29 July 2016.

2015: Gretchen K. Campbell (Joint Quantum Institute, National Institute of Standards and

Technology and University of Maryland)

The prize was awarded for her outstanding contributions in toroidal Bose-Einstein condensates and its application to "atomtronic" circuits. She provided winner's talk by a recorded video officially prepared. at ICPEAC 2015 in Toledo, Spain in 22-28 July 2015.

2. Conference Support

The following conferences related with C15 were supported by IUPAP.

2017:

The 30th International Conference on Photonic, Electronic, and Atomic Collisions (ICPEAC 2017) Location: Cairns, Australia International Chair: Hossein Sadeghpour (Harvard University, USA) Local Chair: Anatoli Kheifets (Australian National University, Australia)

Date: 24 July - 1 August 2017 Conference Type: A

2016:

The 25th International Conference on Atomic Physics (ICAP 2016)

Location: Seoul, Korea Chair: (Donghyun Cho, Wonho Jhe, Seoul National University, Korea, and Young Soon Kim, Myongji University, Korea) Date: 24 - 29 July 2016 Conference Type: A

The 18th International Conference on Physics of Highly Charged Ions (HCI 2016)

Location: Kielce, Poland Chair: Marek Pajek (Jan Kochanowski University, Poland) Date: 11 - 16 September 2016 Conference Type: B

2015:

The 29th International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (ICPEAC 2015)
Location: Toledo, Spain
Date: 22 - 28 July 2015
International Chair: Roberto Rivarola (Instituto de Física Rosario, Argentina)
Local Chair: Fernando Martin (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
Conference Type: A

The 22nd International Conference on Laser Spectroscopy (ICOLS 2015)

Location: Sentosa Island in Singapore Date: 28 June – 3 July 2015 Chair: Kai Dieckmann (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

3. C15 Commission Meeting

2017:

The commission meeting was held on 28 July 2017 during ICPEAC 2017. All of three Officers (T. Azuma, R. Rivarola, D. Vernhet) and two Members (D. Ding, J. Gorfinkiel) together with an ICPEAC International Secretary (E. Sockell) attended the meeting. The Officers explained the present activities including the funding

situation of IUPAP, and the ICPEAC International Secretary explained the how the IUPAP support was used for ICPEAC 2017. The committee exchanged opinions to encourage and stimulate future C15 activities.

2016:

The commission meeting was held on 28 July 2016 during ICAP 2016. The Chair explained the present activities including the funding situation of IUPAP, and the Member W. Jhe (co-chair of ICAP) explained the how the IUPAP support was used for ICAP2016.

2015:

The commission meeting was held on 24 July 2015 during ICPEAC 2015. All of three Officers (T. Azuma, R. Rivarola, D. Vernhet), four Members (D. Ding, T.F. Gallagher, J. Gorfinkiel, J. Hansen) with an ICPEAC Local Chair (F. Martin) attended the meeting. G. Pichler, a past Member, also joined it. The C15 Vice Chair R. Rivarola was also an International Chair of ICPEAC 2015. The officers explained the present activities including the funding situation of IUPAP. The ICPEAC Local Chair explained the how the IUPAP support was used for ICPEAC 2017.

Future schedule:

Next call for the 2018 IUPAP C15 YSP will be launched at the beginning of 2018. The C15 commission meeting and the winner's talk of the C15 YSP are scheduled during the coming ICAP 2018 at Barcelona, Spain.

The 30th International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (ICAP 2018)

http://icap2018.eu Location: Barcelona, Spain Date: 22 - 27 July 2018 Local Chair: Maciej Lewenstein (The Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO), Spain) Conference Type: A (expected)