WG12: Energy

WG12: Energy

Working Group 12 (WG12), Energy, was created by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics in 2012 at the Executive Council meeting in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil to review current energy issues.

Charge to Working Group

  • the Energy Working Group 12 shall review current energy issues and through International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) make briefs available for the global physics community and policy makers as well as the public at large;
  • the group meets once or twice a year to review selected topics taking advantage of local experts where the meeting is held;
  • the topics considered should include energy supply, carriers, storage and use. Both advanced and low tech systems shall be looked into.


Chair: Jon Samseth
Kristina M Johnson
Kimitoshi Kono
Mats Leijon
Hardo Bruhns
Glaucia Mendes Souza
Wikus van Niekerk
Chris Llewellyn Smith
George Crabtree
Hushan Xu
Kohei M. Itoh
David Faiman
Lincoln Paterson
Eduard Son


Reports to the General Assembly: 20142015 (Oct), 2017