C2: Awards

C2: Awards

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Fundamental Metrology

C2 SUNAMCO is pleased to announce the award of IUPAP Young Scientist (Early Career) Prizes in Fundamental Metrology to the below recipients in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the areas of physics within the remit of the Commission.

  • 2014 – Dr. Samuel Lara-Avila, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden; and Dr. Stefan Ulmer, RIKEN/CERN
  • 2012 – Dr. Pierre Cladé, LKB, France; and  Dr. Ryan Ringle, NSCL, USA
  • 2010 – Till Rosenband, NIST, USA
  • 2008 – Sébsatien Bize, LNE-SYRTE, France; and Frank Herfurth, GSI, Germany

The IUPAP Young Scientist (Early Career) Prize in Fundamental Metrology is awarded by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics through Commission C2 – SUNAMCO to physicists who, on 1 January of the year of the award, have a maximum of 8 years research experience from the start of their professional career (excluding career interruption) and who are judged to have made original and outstanding contributions to the field of fundamental metrology. Each Prize comprises a medal and an award of €1,000.


C2 Commission Award – SUNAMCO Senior Scientist Medal

The awards of SUNAMCO Medals are made on the basis of nominations made to the Commission – from either within or outside IUPAP Commission C2.

  • 2012 – Ian M. Mills
  • 2008 – Professor H. J. KlugeProfessor G. Bollen, and Professor D. E. Pritchard
  • 2004 – Professor A. H. Wapstra
  • 2001 – Dr C. A. Hamilton and Professor T. W. Hänsch
  • 1998 – Professor T. Kinoshita and GSI (Gemeinschaft für Schwer-Ionforschung)
  • 1996 – Dr. E. R. Cohen
  • 1992 – Dr. B. P. Kibble and Professor H. E. Duckworth
  • 1991 – Dr. R. D. Deslattes
  • 1990 – BIPM (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures)

The International Union of Pure and Applied Physics makes awards for excellence, including the SUNAMCO Medal sponsored by IUPAP Commission C2. The present IUPAP Commission C2 incorporates the SUN Commission, one of the earliest of the original group set up in 1931.

Measurement is central to physics, particularly in order to compare the universe as it really is, with the predictions of theoretical physicists. All measurements must be referred to a reliable reference quantity; a quantity that can be readily understood by other physicists as well as those outside physics, such as a fundamental physical constant or an SI unit. As science and technology advance these quantities are required with much higher accuracy – an accuracy improving roughly ten-fold per decade or so. The aspect of physics covered by the Commission C2 often involves long and painstaking work by groups of physicists over many years to bring a new measurement technique from an idea to a practical working reality. Such endeavours may involve contributions by many physicists and often different laboratories in countries throughout the world. From time to time IUPAP Commission C2 awards a SUNAMCO medal in order to recognise outstanding contributions made to the area of physics by laboratories or individuals within the ambit of the Commission.



Please send updated information and corrections to the IUPAP Administrator.