WG11: Gravitational Wave International Committee (GWIC)

WG11: Gravitational Wave International Committee (GWIC)

Working Group 11 (WG11), the Gravitational Wave International Committee (GWIC) was created by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics in 1997 to facilitate international collaboration and cooperation in the construction, operation and use of the major gravitational wave detection facilities world wide. GWIC is associated with IUPAP C19, AC2 and WG10.

Charge to Working Group

  • promote international cooperation in all phases of construction and scientific exploitation of gravitational-wave detectors;
  • coordinate and support long-range planning for new instrument proposals, or proposals for instrument upgrades;
  • promote the development of gravitational-wave detection as an astronomical tool, exploiting especially the potential for multi-messenger astrophysics;
  • organise regular, world-inclusive meetings and workshops for the study of problems related to the development and exploitation of new or enhanced gravitational-wave detectors, and foster research and development of new technology;
  • represent the gravitational-wave detection community internationally, acting as its advocate;
  • provide a forum for project leaders to regularly meet, discuss, and jointly plan the operations and direction of their detectors and experimental gravitational-wave physics generally.


Dave Reitze
California Institute of Technology and University of Florida
(GWIC, 2007–, Chair 2019–)

Executive Secretary:
David Shoemaker
Massachussets Institute of Technology, 2016-

Cosmic Explorer:
Matthew Evans
MIT, 2019-

Einstein Telescope
Michele Punturo
INFN-Perugia, 2009–

European Pulsar Timing Array (EPTA)
Michael Kramer
Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie and Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics (University of Manchester), 2009–

GEO 600
Karsten Danzmann
Albert-Einstein-Institut fur Gravitationsphysik and University of Hannover, 1997–

Sheila Rowan
University of Glasgow, 2009–

Bala Iyer
International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS) of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), 2011–

Somak Raychaudhury
Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, 2017–

Yoshio Saito
KEK, 2013–

Takaaki Kajita
Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo, 2011–


Dave Reitze
California Institute of Technology and University of Florida, 2007–

Patrick Brady
University of Wisconsin, 2019–

LISA Community

Kelly Holly-Bockelmann
Vanderbilt University, 2018–

Bernard Schutz
Albert-Einstein-Institut für Gravitationsphysik, 2001–

Ira Thorpe
Goddard Space Flight Center, 2016–

Stefano Vitale
University of Trento, 2001–


Scott Ransom
NRAO, 2019–


Matthew Bailes
Swinburne University, 2017–

David McClelland
Australian National University, 2000–


Jo van den Brand
Dutch National Institute for Subatomic Physics (Nikhef) and VU University in Amsterdam, 2017–

Fulvio Ricci
University of Rome, “La Sapienza”, 2014–

Theory Community

Luis Lehner
Perimeter Institute, 2018–

IUPAP Affiliate Commission AC2 (International Commission on General Relativity and Gravitation)

Beverly Berger

IAU Commission D1 Representative

Marica Branchesi
Gran Sasso Science Institute, 2017–


Reports to the General Assembly: 20142015 (Oct), 2017
Reports to the Council and Commission Chair meeting: 2018(May), 2018(Oct), 2019(Oct)


Website for The Gravitational Wave International Committee.