IUPAP Working Group 14 (WG14), on Accelerator Science, was created in 2015 to promote the exchange of information and views among the members of the international scientific community in the field of Accelerator Science including, but not limited to, the following:

  • the theory and experiments concerned with the nature and properties of particle accelerators and beam physics
  • the improvement of international communication in Accelerator Science through the sponsorship of professional meetings
  • the future of accelerator facilities for various fields that benefit science and society
  • the industrial, medical, energy production and environmental applications of relevant accelerator technologies


Lia Merminga, Associate Laboratory Director, Accelerator Directorate, SLAC, United States of America

Stuart Henderson, Project Manager, Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National laboratory, United States of America

Chris Barty, Co-Chair of ICUIL, Chief Technology Officer for the National Ignition Facility and Photon Science Directorate at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States of America,

Caterina Biscari, Director, ALBA Synchrotron Light Source, Spain

Di-Jing Huang, the Deputy Director, National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center, Taiwan

Bob Bingham, past-Chair of C16, Professor, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom

Qing Qin, Deputy Director of IHEP, China and the Chair of Accelerator Division, China

Seiya Yamaguchi, Director of Accelerator Laboratory, KEK, Japan

Gianluigi Arduini, Chair, European Physical Society – Accelerator Group Elected Board and Head, Accelerator and Beam Physics Group, CERN, Switzerland

Swapan Chattopadhyay, Distinguished Professor of Physics and Director of Accelerator Research at Northern Illinois University and a member of the Director’s Senior Leadership Team at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, United States of America

Leonid Rivkin (Lenny), Head of Large Research Facilities Department and member of the Board of Directors of the Paul Scherrer Institute and Professor of Accelerator Physics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland

Joachim Mnich, ICFA Chairman, Director for Particle Physics and Astroparticle Physics, DESY, Germany

Michael Moyers, Chairman and Professor Department of Medical Physics, Shanghai Proton and Heavy Ion Center (SPHIC), China

Mats Lindroos, Head of Accelerator Division, European Spallation Source and Particle Physics division, Physics department Lund University, Sweden


  • First Working Group Meeting
    9 May 2016, Busan Korea


Reports to IUPAP General Assembly: 2017