WG9: International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics (ICNP)

WG9: International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics (ICNP)

Working Group 9(WG9) on International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics (ICNP) was established by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) on the recommendation of the IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics, C12, in 2003 with a mandate to look at the key issues in Nuclear Physics.”

Photos from the IUPAP WG.9 Nuclear Science Symposium/Annual General Meeting
on August 29 – 30, 2017, at the RIKEN Tokyo Office

NSS participants

Nuclear Science Symposium Participants

Invited participants

Invitees to the Nuclear Science Symposium


Members of IUPAP WG.9 and IUPAP C12


Charge to Working Group

  • to provide a description of the landscape of key issues in Nuclear Physics research for the next 10 to 20 years;
  • to produce (maintain) a compendium of facilities existing or under development worldwide;
  • to establish a mapping of these facilities onto the scientific questions identified above;
  • to identify missing components that would have to be developed to provide an optimized, comprehensive network of international facilities;
  • to explore mechanisms and opportunities for enhancing international collaboration in nuclear science;
  • to identify R/D projects that could benefit from international joint effort;
  • to serve as a source of expert advice for governmental or inter- governmental organisations in connection with efforts to coordinate and promote nuclear science at the international level;
  • to serve as a forum for the discussion of future directions of nuclear science in the broadest sense;
  • to document the cross-disciplinary impact of Nuclear Physics and of nuclear facilities and to identify mechanisms for expanding (fostering) cross-disciplinary research.

Members of IUPAP WG.9

Members of IUPAP WG.9 and IUPAP C12 and invitees to the ICNP AGM – September 2016


The Executive of the IUPAP Working Group 9 consists of a Chairperson, a Past-Chairperson, and an Executive Secretary. Among its members will be the Chairs and Past-Chairs of the Long Range Planning Committees: the  US Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) and the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC), the Chairs and Past-Chairs of the Nuclear Physics Associations: the  Association of Latin American Nuclear Physics and Applications (ALAFNA) and the ‘Asian Nuclear Physics Association (ANPhA)’, and the Directors of the large nuclear physics research establishments (five from Asia, four from Europe, and five from North-America and one or two more from outside the three mentioned global regions).  The Chair of the IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics, C12, will be an ex-officio member of the IUPAP Working Group 9.


Chair: Robert E. Tribble, Texas A&M, USA
Past-Chair: Anthony W. Thomas, University of Adelaide, Australia
Secretary: Willem T.H. van Oers, TRIUMF/University of Manitoba, Canada


  • Navin Alahari (Director GANIL, France)
  • Faical Azaiez (Director i’Themba Laboratories, Zuid-Afrika)
  • Jonathan Bagger (Director TRIUMF, Canada)
  • Angela Bracco (INFN-Milano, Italy) Past-Chair of NuPECC
  • Pierluigi Campana (Director Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati, Italy)
  • Hideto En’yo (Director RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science, Japan)
  • Claes Fahlander (Lunds Universitet)Chair of C12
  • Donald F. Geesaman (ANL, USA) Past-Chair of NSAC
  • Paolo Giubellino (Director GSI, Germany)
  • Thomas Glasmacher (Director FRIB, USA)
  • Stuart Henderson (Director Jefferson Laboratory, USA)
  • David W. Hertzog (University of Washington) Chair of NSAC
  • Sun-Chan Jeong (Director RSIP, Korea)
  • Alinka Lepine-Szily (U. de Sao Paulo, Brazil) Co-Chair of ALAFNA
  • Marek Lewitowicz (GANIL, France) Chair of NuPECC
  • Victor A. Matveev (Director JINR-Dubna, Russia)
  • Dong-Pil Min (Seoul National University, RoK) Past-Chair of ANPhA
  • Berndt Mueller (Associate Director BNL, USA)
  • Naohito Saito (Director J-PARC, Japan)
  • Nigel Smith (Director SNOLAB, Canada)
  • Dinesh Srivastava (Director VECC, India)
  • Kazuhiro Tanaka (KEK, Japan) Chair of ANPhA
  • Wenlong Zhan (Director, IMP-Lanzhou, China)


Report to General Assembly: 2011, 2014,2017 
Report to the IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs: 2010, 2012, 2015 (Oct), 2017(Oct), 2018(Oct), 2019(Oct)

Additional reports
IUPAP Report 41: 2014

IUPAP Report 41

One of the mandates of the Working Group, as confirmed by the OECD Global Science Forum, is to update IUPAP Report 41 within a regular scheduled time frame. IUPAP Report 41 “Research Facilities in Nuclear Physics” was first published as a hard copy and then as an electronic version in 2007. Since then additional individual nuclear physics laboratory descriptions have been added. Following the second Nuclear Science Symposium, which was held at INFN
Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati, 31 May–1 June 2013, also the preamble to IUPAP Report 41 has been revised with succinct synopses of the seven subfields of nuclear physics discussed at the symposium. These synopses give the more important nuclear science questions to be addressed in the coming five to ten years and are to be seen as a roadmap for nuclear science worldwide. It is the intention to update the roadmap following each of the Nuclear Science Symposia which now may take place every other year.




Website for The International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics.