2015 Young Scientist Prize Winners for the Commission on Astroparticle Physics (C4)

Claudio Kopper

Claudio Kopper was awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astroparticle Physics 2015 for his outstanding contribution to the analysis of the IceCube Neutrino-Telescope data, leading to the first-ever observation of high-energy cosmic neutrinos.

Claudio received his PhD from the University of Erlangen, Germany, in 2010. As a graduate student, he worked on optimizing the layout of the planned KM3NeT neutrino telescope.  After receiving his PhD, Claudio went to the National Institute for Subatomic Physics in Amsterdam, to help finalize the design of KM3NeT and to provide major contributions to the its Technical Design Report. In 2011 he became John Bahcall Fellow at University of Wisconsin, Madison, where he joined the IceCube project and developed novel techniques that improved the the sensitivity in detecting signals from high energy neutrinos. Since 2014, he is a professor at the University of Alberta.


Julia Tjus

Julia Tjus was awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astroparticle Physics 2015 for her outstanding work connecting phenomenology and experiment in neutrino astronomy.

After studying physics in Oerebro (Sweden) and Wuppertal (Germany), Julia finished her PhD in 2007 in Dortmund (Germany). After taking a Postdoc position at University of Gothenburg, Sweden, she became Junior Professor at Bochum, Germany, in 2009 and then full professor on plasma astroparticle physics in 2013.  Since 2012, she is Member of the Young Academy of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities as well as of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Her research activities cover the physics for active galaxies and gamma-ray-bursts as potential cosmic accelerators. She is member of the IceCue, HESS, and CTA collaborations.