C5 Young Scientist Winners 2014

The 2014 IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes for C5: Low Temperature Physics were awarded during the 27th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT27) held from  6–13 August 2014 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, to:

  • Cory R. Dean [The City College of New York, USA], “For his development of graphene on boron nitride and subsequent discovery of the Hofstadter’s butterfly.” and,
  • Leonardo DiCarlo [Delft Univeristy of Technology, the Netherlands], “For his outstanding low-temperature experiments on semiconducting and superconducting mesoscopic circuits, and for establishing an innovative research program on measurement and feedback control of superconducting qubits.” and,
  • Mathieu Le Tacon [MPI for Solid State Research, Germany], “For his innovative photon scattering experiments elucidating spin and charge ordering phenomena and excitations in high-temperature superconductors and other correlated-electron materials.”