C19: Awards

C19: Awards

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics

C19 IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes in Astrophysics have been awarded to the below recipients in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the areas of physics within the remit of the Commission.

  • 2019 – Dr Vincent Bourrier
  • 2018 – Dr Elisabeth Krause
  • 2017Dr Pratika Dayal (University of Groningen, NL) for her work as a theorist, combining analytic theory, numerical simulations and data interpretation, which has significantly contributed to building tantalising bridges between fields as diverse as astrophysics, particle cosmology and astrobiology.
  • 2016 – Dr Nikku Madhusudhan (University of Cambridge, UK) for his pioneering and outstanding contributions to the characterization of exoplanetary atmospheres which have led to the first insights into various physical processes and chemical compositions of exoplanetary atmospheres, and have laid the foundations for understanding planetary formation and migration based on exoplanetary atmospheric compositions.
  • 2015 – Dr Sylvain Guiriec (University of Maryland, USA) for his insightful and innovative contributions towards understanding the nature of Gamma Ray Burst (GRB) prompt emission, in particular the establishment of multi-component spectra, and the discovery of a new Peak Energy – Luminosity relation showing that GRBs can be used as standard candles and thereby as unique cosmological probes.
  • 2014 – Dr Nanda Rea (University of Amsterdam, NL) for her valuable contribution to the study of neutron stars. In particular for the discovery that magnetars can have low dipolar magnetic fields in line with the normal pulsar population, at variance with the long-standing belief that the electron critical magnetic field was a lower limit for magnetar-activity to take place.
  • 2013 – Dr. Alicia Soderberg (Harvard University, USA) for discovering of new classes of explosions in the Universe across the electromagnetic spectrum, including the first X-ray flare associated with a shock breakout in a supernovae (SN 2008D), and the first luminous radio emission from a supernova (SN 2009bb) which requires a substantial relativistic outflow powered by a central engine without an observed gamma-ray burst.
  • 2012 – Dr. Alexander J. van der Horst (Astronomical Institute `Anton Pannekoek’, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands) for the insightful and very diverse work in elucidating the nature of and high-energy emission processes in gamma-ray bursts and soft gamma repeaters; especially for his skillful analysis of data from very different space- and ground- based instruments and the furthering of our theoretical understanding of those data in terms of physics of the sources.
  • 2011 – Dr. Daisuke Nagai (Yale University, USA) for ground-breaking research that has significantly improved our understanding of the structure and evolution of galaxy clusters and their application for cosmology, through the use of novel computer simulations and the development of techniques that control systematic uncertainties due to non-linear astrophysical processes.
  • 2010 – Dr. Poonam Chandra (Royal Military College of Canada, Canada) for her work on radio detection of distant gamma ray bursts and supernovae.
  • 2009 – Dr. Thomas Schweizer (Max Planck Institute, Munich, Germany) for his work on the MAGIC project and the first Crab pulsar detection at gamma energies above 25 GeV.
  • 2008 – Dr. Eiichiro Komatsu (University of Texas, Austin, USA) for his work on the interpretation of the cosmic microwave background data, first from COBE (COsmic Background Explorer) and more recently from WMAP (Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe), especially exploring limits of non-gaussianity of the cosmic microwave background.
  • 2006 – Marta Burgay (Cagliary Astronomical Observatory, INAF-OAC, Italy) for her discovery and characterisation of the first double pulsar, PSR J0737-3039A and B.

Other Prizes in Astrophysics and Related Topics

Dan David Prizes

Three Dan David prizes of $1 million USD each are annually awarded for achievements having an outstanding scientific, technological, cultural or social impact on our world. Each year fields are chosen within the three Time Dimensions – Past, Present and Future.

For details see: http://www.dandavidprize.org

The Kavli Prizes

Three Kavli prizes are awarded every second year to the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience.

For details of past laureates in Astrophysics, see: http://www.kavliprize.org/prize-landing-years?scientific_field=astrophysics

The Peter Gruber Foundation Prizes

Annual awards are made in the fields of Cosmology, Genetics and Neuroscience.

For details of past laureates in Cosmology, see: http://gruber.yale.edu/cosmology

The Crafoord Prize

The Crafoord Prize in astronomy and mathematics, biosciences and geosciences is an annual award, with a rotation in the discipline of the award.

For details of past laureates in Astronomy and Mathematics, see: http://www.crafoordprize.se/prizesawarded/astronomyandmathematics.4.2f692b3510dbfce339680009400.html 

The Shaw Prize

The Shaw Prize is an annual award in the fields of Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences.

For details of past laureates in Astronomy, see: http://www.shawprize.org/en/shaw.php?tmp=3&twoid=96

Please send updated information and corrections to the IUPAP Administrator.